After his death in 1998, the family of Clifford Curtis sought a way to honor his memory that would also reflect his uplifting and encouraging spirit. Their decision was to create the Clifford Curtis Outstanding Student Foundation Member Award to honor a member of Student Foundation, of which Mr. Curtis was a member and served as president.

Three Curtis brothers attended TCU: Wiley II graduated in 1978; Clifford in 1980 with an MBA in 1982; and Chris in 1983. All were very active members of Student Foundation and have remained extremely active with TCU since their graduation.


This award is given to an exemplary member of Student Foundation for his/her commitment and dedication to the organization. Members are nominated for this award by their peers. Nominees must have been a Student Foundation member for at least two semesters.

Curtis Family Scholarship

Along with receiving this award, the recipient will also receive the Curtis Family Scholarship that honors the entire family. Funds for the Curtis Family Scholarship come from the Curtis family and friends, as well as the Clifford Curtis Memorial Golf Tournament which is held annually to honor Clifford’s memory.

Past Clifford Curtis Award Recipients

1999 – Amy Shackelford
2001 – Mari Mooneyham
2002 – John Mark Day
2003 – Megan Cedarburg
2004 – Dan Webb
2005 – Ashley Nichols
2006 – Josh McNamara
2007 – Meredith Hamilton
2008 – Lindsay Ray
2009 – Ross Thomason
2010 – Andy Points
2011 - Madi Reid
2012 - Molly Johnson
2013 - Megan Farrelly
2014 - Nick Hill
2015 - Grace Nader
2016 - Nathan Elam